Welcome to our website about our commitment to
terre des hommes

India

Since 2005, in cooperation with the terre des hommes charitable organization, DACHSER has committed itself to the sustainable development of children and villagers in Uttar Pradesh, one of the poorest and most populated states in India. The predominantly rural-based economy is currently undergoing a structural crisis. Typical small artisan businesses are collapsing and local agriculture can barely feed the inhabitants. In addition, there are the serious consequences of climate change, constant rural exodus, high unemployment and low wages.

The project supports rural communities in the Varanasi and Sitapur Districts. By 2015, DACHSER had invested approximately EUR 900,000 in two successive project phases. For the first ten years, the motto was “From Education to Sustainability”.

Namibia

In Namibia, DACHSER has been cooperating with terre des hommes since 2014 to ensure better future opportunities for San children, the oldest population group in southern Africa.
The San, also referred to as “Bushmen”, live primarily in poverty – either on gigantic farms or in slum-like settlements on the outskirts of small cities. Unemployment is high and the social problems are massive. Together, terre des hommes and DACHSER support the WIMSA Organization (Working Group of Indigenous Minorities in Southern Africa) with educational projects for children. The project work focuses on early kindergarten and pre-school education, as well as the provision of support in subsequent education. In addition, practical professional training is offered to young people to prepare them for employment in lodges, hotels or on construction sites.

Brazil

In Brazil, DACHSER has been campaigning for the Limeira Children’s Rights Center since 2015. Drug-dealing, organized crime and deployment of the military police are an unfortunate part of the everyday lives of many children and young people in the community of Campinas, a city with more than one million inhabitants, in the state of São Paulo. In conjunction with terre des hommes and local government agencies, DACHSER supports educational programs to open up young people’s life prospects. The Children’s Rights Center strives to offer children and young people an alternative to criminality and drug addiction. For this purpose, the Center offers direct education in schools and alternative recreational activities. In addition, the children and young people, their families as well as representatives from local government agencies are made aware of children’s rights. Thus, children and young people are to be seen as campaigners for a culture of peace.

Many countries in South Asia are currently suffering from a difficult period of drought. The necessary monsoon rainfalls have declined over the past four years and consequently millions of people in at least 13 states in India are suffering from water shortages. The interior region of the state of Maharashtra was particularly hard-hit. Thus, the construction of water infrastructures is one of the main goals of DACHSER’s funded development projects which is conducted by terre des hommes and their local partners in the Latur region (in the state of Maharashtra).

WE SUPPORT THE FOLLOWING MEASURES:

All measures are planned in accordance with the humanitarian principles of terre des hommes. After providing short-term help to secure access to clean drinking water, the long-term goal is to help people help themselves, which is terre des hommes’ overall goal for all of their projects.

DONATE NOW

terre des hommes Logo

terre des hommes Germany is an international developmental children’s aid organization which operates independently of governments, the economy, religious institutions and political parties. It is headquartered in Osnabrück in Northern Germany and has several local and regional offices worldwide. Since the mid-1960s, the non-governmental organization promotes an ‘earth of humanity’. terre des hommes supports more than 350 projects for children in need in more than 30 countries worldwide.

The children’s aid organization does not send volunteers, but rather supports local initiatives with donations and consultation. One of their main objectives is security and lasting support for children.

We protect children of slavery and exploitation, help refugee kids, take care of the victims of war, violence and abuse, and provide education and training for children. We support girls and boys, whose families died of AIDS, and stand up for children‘s rights for a healthy environment and the protection of discriminated groups.

terre des hommes

LEARN MORE

Bernhard Simon, CEO von DACHSER

The prosperity of the Western world is also due to the fact that, at least in part, production conditions elsewhere are far removed from our minimum standards. This therefore gives us a special responsibility. There is only one world in which we live; we are all interconnected in many different ways in today’s world.

Bernhard Simon, DACHSER's CEO

As a family-owned business, DACHSER is committed to a long-term and sustainable company policy. While focusing on economic and environmental goals, social objectives are equally as important and we pursuit them with great dedication and sense of responsibility. Logistics brings people, markets and production worlds closer together. For DACHSER, global growth means, even on a worldwide scale, assuming responsibility and actively working to improve the living conditions of those who have not benefited equally from globalization.

Especially in today’s world, where many places are being shaped by wars, crises, and uncertainty, we need powerful initiatives for further local development. In the age of globalization, we are all living in one world. Tomorrow’s refugees could be coming from another region. Our responsibility extends beyond company and country borders.

Therefore, DACHSER is actively involved in promoting sustainable improvements to the situation of children, especially for girls and young women in rural areas. Our engagement since 2005 is thus dedicated in particular to the children’s aid organization terre des hommes. Together we promote „Helping others help themselves” in order to improve living conditions as well as education and vocational training opportunities for disadvantaged minorities. Sustainable support requires thought-through concepts, patience and commitment. These principles have always guided DACHSER’s company philosophy as well.

The commitment made by DACHSER and terre des hommes has been designed to be sustainable and long-term. It is intended to bring about a structural improvement in the living conditions of socially and economically-disadvantaged population groups. Strictly adhering to the principle of “Helping people help themselves”, DACHSER has now been supporting the local partner organizations of terre des hommes for ten years with the following activities: To regard people in need as brothers on the same level – the idea of terre des hommes’ founder Lutz Beisel describes very well the difference between charity and corporate social responsibility which the DACHSER family fully supports as we are seeing ourselves as corporate citizens in a globalized world.

To see how people succeed in organizing themselves and connecting with each other has been among the highlights of the projects with terre des hommes for me. It does not just involve giving long-term financial support to the people and the region; it is rather about supporting them on their path to self-determination.

Bernhard Simon, DACHSER's CEO

0

children attended educational programs

0

children and women were educated about their rights and given assistance to actively demand them

0

girls received tutoring to finish secondary school

0

children attended vocational trainings

0

trees were planted

0

families received solar-powered lamps

0

schools were equipped with special tanks for drinking water and sanitary facilities

While continuing its 11-year collaboration in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh with the children’s aid organization terre des hommes, ...

... DACHSER is expanding its commitment to additional project regions in India, Nepal, Brazil, and Namibia.

Over the next four years, the logistics provider will invest over EUR 1.1 million in local aid projects to bring lasting improvements to people’s lives by helping them help themselves.

Bernhard Simon

Living and working together in a flourishing environment creates better prospects for current and future generations. This is responsible entrepreneurship at its finest – on a small and big scale.

Bernhard Simon, DACHSER's CEO

JOIN US AND SUPPORT OUR PROJECTS BY DONATING TODAY.

In Germany, people of all ages in approx. 120 cities volunteer for terre des hommes with the joint goal to help children in need. Working with terre des hommes is not just about giving something, it is above all also about receiving something in return, for example a smile.

You decide how much and for what you would like to make a contribution. Please click on the donation button below and you will be directed to our donation form on the terre des hommes website.

DONATE NOW

Herzlich willkommen auf unserer Seite zu unserem
Engagement mit terre des hommes

Indien

Mit dem Kinderhilfswerk terre des hommes engagiert sich DACHSER seit 2005 für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung geeigneter Strukturen im Sinne der Schul- und Ausbildung sowie des umweltverträglichen Ressourceneinsatzes für Kinder und Dorfbewohner im indischen Uttar Pradesh.

Uttar Pradesh ist einer der ärmsten und bevölkerungsreichsten Bundesstaaten in Indien. Die dörflich geprägte Wirtschaft durchleidet eine strukturelle Krise. Typische handwerkliche Kleinbetriebe brechen zusammen und die Landwirtschaft kann die Bewohner kaum ernähren. Hinzu kommen schwerwiegende Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, stete Landflucht, hohe Arbeitslosigkeit und niedrige Löhne. Durch das Projekt werden vor allem die beiden Distrikte Varanasi und Sitapur unterstützt. Bis 2015 hat DACHSER in zwei aufeinander aufbauenden Projektphasen rund 900.000 Euro investiert. Die ersten 10 Jahre standen unter dem Motto „Von Bildung zur Nachhaltigkeit“.

Namibia

In Namibia setzt sich DACHSER zusammen mit terre des hommes seit 2014 für bessere Zukunftschancen für Kinder der San, der ältesten Bevölkerungsgruppe im südlichen Afrika, ein. Die San, auch „Buschleute“ genannt, leben zum großen Teil in Armut entweder auf dem Gelände riesiger Farmen oder in slumartigen Siedlungen am Rande von Kleinstädten. Die Arbeitslosigkeit ist hoch und die sozialen Probleme sind gewaltig. Gemeinsam unterstützen terre des hommes und DACHSER bis zunächst 2017 die Organisation WIMSA (Working Group of Indigenous Minorities in Southern Africa) bei Bildungsprojekten für diese Kinder. Die Projektarbeit zielt auf die Frühförderung in Kindergärten und Vorschulen ab sowie auf die Betreuung des anschließenden Schulbesuchs. Hinzu kommen berufspraktische Trainings für junge Menschen, um sie auf Tätigkeiten in der Region in Lodges, Hotels oder am Bau vorzubereiten.

Brasilien

In Brasilien macht sich DACHSER seit 2015 für das Kinderrechtszentrum in Limeira, einer Millionenstadt im Bundesstaat São Paulo, stark. Drogenhandel, organisiertes Verbrechen und Einsätze der Militärpolizei bestimmen dort den Alltag vieler Kinder und Jugendlicher. Gemeinsam mit terre des hommes und lokalen Regierungsstellen fördert DACHSER Bildungs- und Freizeitangebote, um den jungen Menschen Lebensperspektiven zu eröffnen. Das Kinderrechtszentrum unterstützt dadurch Kinder und Jugendliche bei der Abkehr von Kriminalität und Drogensucht. Außerdem sollen die Kinder und Jugendlichen, ihre Familien sowie Vertreter lokaler Regierungsinstanzen für Kinderrechte sensibilisiert werden. Das soziale Bewusstsein der absoluten Priorität von Kinderrechten verstehen die Projektverantwortlichen als wesentliches Instrument der Gewaltprävention. Kinder und Jugendliche sollen als Mitstreiter einer Kultur des Friedens sichtbar werden.

Viele Länder Südasiens leiden im Moment unter einer schweren Dürreperiode. Die notwendigen Monsun-Niederschläge sind in den vergangenen vier Jahren zurückgegangen und so leiden Millionen von Menschen in mindestens 13 Bundesstaaten Indiens an Wassermangel. Besonders betroffen von der Dürreperiode ist im Moment der indische Bundesstaat Maharashtra. Der Aufbau von Wasserversorgungsstrukturen steht daher im Mittelpunkt eines weiteren von DACHSER geförderten Hilfsprojekts, das terre des hommes über seine lokalen Projektpartner in der Region Latur im Bundesstaat Maharashtra durchführt.

FOLGENDE MAßNAHMEN WERDEN UNTERSTÜTZT:

Alle Maßnahmen greifen ineinander und sind im Einklang mit den humanitären Prinzipien von terre des hommes geplant. Neben der kurzfristigen Trinkwasser-Nothilfe steht jedoch die langfristig orientierte Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe im Vordergrund, so wie bei allen Projekten mit terre des hommes.

JETZT SPENDEN

terre des hommes Logo

terre des hommes Deutschland e.V. ist ein entwicklungspolitisches internationales Kinderhilfswerk und agiert unabhängig von Regierungen, Wirtschaft, Religionsgemeinschaften und Parteien. Die Bundesgeschäftsstelle sitzt in Osnabrück. Dazu kommen mehrere Länder- und Regionalbüros. Seit Mitte der 60er Jahre setzt sich die Nichtregierungsorganisation für eine „Erde der Menschlichkeit“ ein. Weltweit unterstützt terre des hommes über 350 Projekte für Kinder in Not in über 30 Projektländern.

Das Kinderhilfswerk entsendet keine Helfer aus Deutschland, sondern unterstützt einheimische Initiativen mit Spenden und durch Beratung. Im Zentrum stehen dabei immer der Schutz und die nachhaltige Förderung von Kindern.

Wir schützen Kinder vor Sklaverei und Ausbeutung, helfen Flüchtlingskindern, kümmern uns um die Opfer von Krieg, Gewalt und Missbrauch und sorgen für die Erziehung und Ausbildung von Kindern. Wir unterstützen Mädchen und Jungen, deren Familien an Aids gestorben sind und setzen uns ein für das Recht von Kindern auf eine gesunde Umwelt und für den Schutz diskriminierter Bevölkerungsgruppen.

terre des hommes

MEHR ERFAHREN

Bernhard Simon, CEO von DACHSER

Der Wohlstand der westlichen Welt kommt auch deswegen zustande, weil anderswo zum Teil Produktionsbedingungen herrschen, die weit entfernt von unseren Mindeststandards sind. Daraus ergibt sich für uns eine besondere Verantwortung. Es gibt nur eine Welt, in der wir leben; wir sind in der heutigen Welt auf viele verschiedene Arten miteinander vernetzt.

Bernhard Simon, CEO von DACHSER

Als Familienunternehmen bekennt sich DACHSER zu einer langfristigen und damit nachhaltigen Geschäftspolitik. Im Fokus stehen neben ökonomischen und ökologischen Zielen, auch soziale Ziele, die wir mit großem Engagement und Verantwortungsbewusstsein verfolgen. Logistik lässt Menschen, Märkte und Produktionswelten näher zusammenrücken. Globales Wachstum heißt für DACHSER, auch im weltweiten Maßstab Verantwortung zu übernehmen und sich aktiv für die Lebensbedingungen derjenigen einzusetzen, die nicht im gleichen Maße von der Globalisierung profitieren.

Gerade in der heutigen Zeit, die an vielen Orten dieser Welt durch Kriege, Krisen und Unsicherheit geprägt ist, brauchen wir kraftvolle Initiativen für die lokale Entwicklung. Im Zeitalter der Globalisierung leben wir alle in einer Welt. Flüchtlingsströme können morgen in ganz anderen Regionen ihren Ursprung haben. Unsere Verantwortung endet nicht an den Grenzen von Unternehmen oder Ländern.

Vor diesem Hintergrund leistet DACHSER einen aktiven Teil zu einer nachhaltigen Verbesserung der Lage von Kindern, insbesondere Mädchen und jungen Frauen im ländlichen Raum leisten. Unser Engagement gilt daher seit 2005 in besonderem Maße der Hilfsorganisation terre des hommes. Gemeinsam leisten wir Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe, um sowohl die Lebensbedingungen, als auch die Schul- und Ausbildung benachteiligter Minderheiten zu fördern. Nachhaltige Hilfe braucht durchdachte Konzepte, Geduld und langen Atem. Prinzipien, die immer auch die Unternehmensphilosophie von DACHSER geleitet haben.

Veröffentlichung vom 15.11.2013

Das Engagement von DACHSER und terre des hommes ist langfristig angelegt. Es zielt auf eine nachhaltige Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen von Kindern und Jugendlichen bei sozial und wirtschaftlich benachteiligten Bevölkerungsgruppen. Ganz nach dem Prinzip „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ stammen die lokalen Organisationen, mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten deshalb aus den jeweiligen Regionen. Das ist sehr wichtig für die Projektarbeit, damit ein kulturelles Distanzgefühl gar nicht erst entstehen kann. Die gemeinsame Arbeit von terre des hommes und DACHSER ist außerdem so angelegt, dass sie sich irgendwann von alleine abschafft. Den Hilfsbedürftigen als Bruder auf gleicher Augenhöhe sehen – Diese Idee des Gründers von terre des hommes, Lutz Beisel, beschreibt sehr genau den Unterschied zwischen Charity und Corporate Social Responsibility, wie sie auch die DACHSER Familie als Corporate Citizens in einer globalisierten Welt versteht.

Zu sehen, wie es den Menschen gelingt, sich selbst zu organisieren und zu vernetzen, gehört für mich zu den Highlights der Projekte mit terre des hommes. Es geht uns nicht darum, die Menschen und die Region dauerhaft zu alimentieren, sondern Sie auf dem Weg in ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu begleiten.

Bernhard Simon, CEO von DACHSER

0

Kinder nahmen reguläre Lernangebote wahr

0

Kinder und Frauen wurden über ihre Rechte aufgeklärt und unterstützt diese auch aktiv einzufordern

0

Mädchen erhielten Nachhilfe, um die weiterführende Schule abzuschließen

0

Kinder besuchten Berufsausbildungszentren

0

Bäume wurden gepflanzt

0

Familien erhielten Solarlampen

0

Schulen wurden mit speziellen Tanks für Trinkwasser und sanitäre Anlagen ausgestattet

DACHSER setzt die vor elf Jahren begonnene Zusammenarbeit mit terre des hommes
im indischen Bundesstaat Uttar Pradesh weiter fort.

In den vergangenen Jahren hat DACHSER sein Engagement zudem auf die Projektregionen Nepal, Brasilien und Namibia ausgeweitet. Auch diese Hilfe ist langfristig angelegt.

So wird DACHSER bis zum Jahr 2020 über 1,1 Millionen Euro in die lokalen Hilfsprojekte investieren, die das Leben der Menschen nach dem Prinzip „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ nachhaltig verbessern.

Bernhard Simon

Ein gedeihliches Zusammenleben und –arbeiten schafft für die jetzigen und kommenden Generationen gute Perspektiven. Das ist verantwortungsvolles Unternehmertum im besten Sinne. Im Kleinen wie im Großen.“

Bernhard Simon, CEO von DACHSER

MACHEN AUCH SIE MIT UND SPENDEN SIE FÜR UNSERE PROJEKTE.

In Deutschland engagieren sich Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene in rund 120 Orten mit terre des hommes ehrenamtlich für Kinder in Not. Ihr Antriebsmotto ist: "Sich bei terre des hommes zu engagieren, heißt nicht nur etwas zu geben, sondern vor allem auch etwas zurück zu bekommen."

Sie selbst entscheiden wofür und wie viel Sie spenden möchten. Klicken Sie einfach auf den untenstehenden Spenden-Button und Sie gelangen zu unserem Spendenformular auf der Website von terre des hommes.

JETZT SPENDEN